July 27, 2010

  • Lets conserve some energy!

    My view from my apartment balcony is not the best... but since I am on the top floor, so i get quite of bit of sun into my apartment.  The view from my apartment does disturbs me sometimes.  Its an office building and they leave the light on in the building ALL NIGHT LONG! 

    First issue:  The light from the office building shines into my apartment giving me a constant night light.  Not good...

    Second Issue:  I am horrified on the waste of energy!  Its an office building!  I can understand if it was a medical building that stores important things with temperature requirements.  But come on!  Its Seattle!  It seem such a waste of energy and cost!  Do they have to keep the light on in ALL the rooms???

    Third Issue:  Their window has some reflective properties or something so during the day, I can't see inside... Since I can see their office stuff from my vantage point, I assume they can see my stuff.  I really have to make sure that I close the blinds or they will see into my bedroom!  very disturbing....

     

July 24, 2010

  • Snap out it!

    Lately, I have been feeling waaaaay too lazy! Not keeping up with new music and concerts... no shopping...no much hanging out with friend... Do I even have friends left anymore??? It's finally starting to feel like summer in Seattle... so I need to hop to it!  Once my ankle completely heals and I can go back to normal activities (my morning bootcamp!)... I think I will start being MORE active.  I mean I haven't even really played golf this season!  What is my stupid golf sitting in my closet for????  I also made a resolution not to fall into my shy-ness trap and say YES to any invitation.  I need to feel uncomfortable sometimes... so who cares if I go to a party and I only know like... 1 person??? Its my opportunity to learn my socialization skillz... smooch  By the time I visit Chicago in the fall... I want to be the FUN me again.  Wait... was I really fun before???  I think I was.  

May 2, 2010

  • Getting FIT!

    So, after years and years for attempting to workout... I have finally committed to a regular, routine workout!  I signed up for this early morning (5:50am!!!!) 4 days a week outdoor bootcamp!  I am going on to my 4th week of this!  I think this is the first time I have stuck with a workout/exercising EVER!  It is insane hard... but I feel great..kinda.  I mean my body is not used to all the use of cardio or muscle use!  Its used to the laying on the couch and watching TV.  But knowing that I might give up after the 4 weeks, I am going to sign up for another 2 rounds for total of 3 months.  I think that will help me get use to working out and help me feel like I can't live without working out!  Ugh... I sound like an ad or something.  But I am determined and really really really committed this time!  I want to not only lose weight, but be like the "fit" girl for once.  So far, I don't feel too different, but I do feel like I stand up more straighter (probably all the sit up/crunches).  I didn't lose too much weight yet (probably need to work more on diet stuff too).  What made me feel good was the a comment from somebody at work... she was like " I didn't recognized you from the back!  You totally got skinny."  Ok, I know I am not skinny, but it felt good to hear someone say that they didn't know it was me from the back.  So I think this workout thing is going to be good!  But the hardest part is... trying to fall asleep early and getting up at 5am!  At least its getting more light out, so for the past 2 weeks, its not pitch black when I get to the class.  Wish me luck!  I need lots of it! :)

January 18, 2010

  • Umbrella Love!

    I am so excited!  I just acquired a new Umbrella!  It's a vintage pagota umbrella.  It was a bit expensive, but since its sort of "one of a kind"... So...I had to get it (obviously)!  Its my first vintage umbrella... the collection is starting get a bit expensive... it will be a while before I get another cool umbrella.

    CHECK IT!!!

    I got it at Bella Umbrella in Ballard. The store also rents out parasols and vintage umbrellas for weddings and events!  I am SOOOO renting umbrellas for my "future" wedding! ♥  Or just for fun!

January 15, 2010

  • Laura the Archeologist?

    When I was young, I wanted to be a archeologist.  I loved reading and watching anything with Egypt and the pyramids!  I forgot about this!  I was searching for Mediterranean cruise and was reading about a port in Turkey (Ephesus) which has Temple of Artemis, one of the 7 wonders of the world.  Then it got me thinking about digging sites and Egypt... then...remembering how I longed to work at those digging sites in Egypt... Well, I guess I have to settle just visiting... Now I need to start thinking about when to go to Egypt! 

January 12, 2010

  • Do NOT eat out!

    Ok.  I was going through my wallet today to clean out my receipts... I realized that like 90% of them were restaurant receipts!  Yikes!  Of course, I am going to give myself a little break and say that I was out of town and had out of town guests visiting in the last few weeks... HOWEVER... when did it change from mostly shopping receipts (my shopaholic days...) to restaurant receipts???  I need to cut back on my eating out...I need to cook meals at home more!  Of course, I am not completely avoid eating out, but I am limiting myself to only once a week or less... Lets see how that works...  Well, its not going to work since I am going to Salt Lake city for Sundance and I am thinking I will be eating out... damn!  Ok need to start in February. Only eating out for special occasions... Just meet up with friends for coffee??? maybe?  or Potluck!  Invite friends over!  Thats what I need to do!

January 7, 2010

  • Sickly

    I feel like I am a hypochondriac sometimes... Lately I feel like I am sick all the time.  Is because I didn't get my H1N1 vaccine??? Maybe... Or, I could actually be sick... I get this weird pattern... i feel ok for few days... then i get this sensation that I am feverish and about to get sore throat for few days... and the cycle repeats... for the past month.  Hmm...  maybe I just need some good sleep.  Blah. 

January 4, 2010

  • Miss you friends...

    I think I have crossed a new chapter in my life... I've come to see that as I get older and still remain single, my dear friends/relatives are getting married and having kids.  I think this is great!  But I feel like I am slowly, but surely losing my close friends/family.  It seems that now everything is "we" and I hardly get to do things with them alone... no more quality time with my friends...  I had an incident where I didn't even get to see or talk to someone who was visiting from out of town.  It's not that I don't love their significant others... but I miss my friends... I miss the one-on-one moments and really "hanging out".  I hate to say it... but it pains me when I make plans and they end up showing up with their significant other... I know I shouldn't feel this way... since their significant other is a huge part of  her life... but somehow I feel cheated.  Crap!  I totally sound childish!  ugh.  But I am starting to feel it more and more recently... Strangely, it doesn't make me feel that I need a partner... I just... well... miss my friends.  I am annoyed explaining our inside jokes. I detest having walking behind or ahead of the couple.  I especially hate sitting in the back seat.  Sigh.  This doesn't mean I don't ever want to hang out with them with their significant others... but its nice to have some alone time occasionally.  Not only that... now I am also having to share them with their new babies... even worse.  Kidding!  I guess I have to start facing reality... nothing is the same anymore.  I hope to see you again friends...sooner than later... I hope.  Ok... venting done! :)   I love you all my friends and family!

August 16, 2009

  • The Cove

    I just saw "The Cove" today... as documentary about dolphins capturing and slaughtering in Taiji, Japan.  Dolphins are captured and the ones that are not picked up the dolphins trainers (for dolphins shows like in Sea World types), they are slaughtered and sold as meat.  It terrifying that these fisherman and also government of Japan is hiding this practice.  Dolphins are such magical and amazing creatures and humans are treating them like pests.  One of the rationale why they kills dolphins is that they and whales are eating too much fish and there isn't enough fish for humans...  (of course, commercial fishing is at an alarming rates and wiping out much of the fish population).  The depth of evil in the hearts of humans are terrifying.  My heart was breaking to see the murdering of the dolphins and the cove that is filled with blood of the dolphins. 

    How can they sleep at night?


June 10, 2009

  • Bus Ride

    Is it neurotic of me to think that i feel unwanted when people don't sit next to me...? In reality, I DON'T want someone to sit next to me... its uncomfortable... however, I do want people to WANT to sit next to me... Maybe I have the "don't you dare sit next to me" look or something... I mean people sat next a young punk... old man... but why not me???  Weird... maybe I am weird...I guess I am neurotic...