May 2, 2009

  • Facing Death(s)

    Hi all,

    Wow… its been forever! 

    I was chatting with my good Kelly and she made me realized that I often get in situations that are potential for real danger while I am on Vacation. Hmm… I was thinking… Maybe she is right…

    Evidence #1:

    Cabo San Lucas (it was fun times!)

    Me and 2 of my friends attempt to ride the water taxi to Lover’s Beach.  I should’ve figured the danger of this… when we have to practically jump into the boat from shore… in sync with the waves coming on the beach… First attempt… just able to throw my stuff on the boat… crap.  The finally jump in… hitting my shin on seat.  Then I see that handful of other people are getting on the boat.  Few of the tumble in the boat as well… I am thinking…”at least i wasn’t the only one”.. whew…  The Lover’s Beach is kinda boring to hang out in… so we decide to ride back to our hotel…  My 2 friends get on fairly quickly… but as soon I try to push myself on the boat, the wave is too big and I fall down on my back… “CRAP” (my thought)… the boat floats away a little and i am covered in sand and water… Then the boat starts coming back to my direction… I am still on my back… I’ve never pushed myself off the ground that fast in my life…and able to step back just in time before the boat ALMOST run me over… At this point my friends can’t see me and thinks I am left on the ground all bloody (thinking the boat sailed over my body)… I think one of them almost had a heart attack… I finally jump into the boat… pretty much in the SuperMan position… and tumble on the floor… but I am in the boat in all in one piece… thank goodness…  My friends are still clutching their chest to catch their breath and recover.  They really need a steps on those boats!

    Evidence #2:
    Puerto Vallarta

    We decide ride ATV in a tour.  I am terrible driver.  ATV + inexperience driver = diaster
    My friend I decide to double up on the ATV and I decided to drive it first… The guides are explaining how to drive, break, and shift the gear.  We start moving out of the parking lot… I can not for the life of me figure out how to reverse.  When I finally do, i almost crash into a wall… with my friend screaming in my ear.  I slowly row out there, being the last one in line… great… sucks to be last… what if they forget about me???  There many instance of the drive that produced shrilling scream of my friend… not from excitement… but the fear that she might not make it out this ride alive… 

    Evidence #3:
    Souther Caribbean Cruise

    Few incidences happend during this trip…
    1) St. John – Snorkeling.  We were snorkeling right off the beach.  The corals were not far from the shore.  I decided not to wear the life-vest/floaties since I am able to swim decently and it was very far.  A friend (who had fear of swimming in the deep water) and I swam together to the corals.  She started getting water in her gear and it freaked her out with the deep water… so she said “hold for a minute” hung on my shoulders to get the water out… Mind you, she had her float vest on and flippers… but after a minute, one of my foot started getting a cramp for kicking my legs to keep both her and I afloat… I tell her to get off and that i have a cramp… but she didn’t hear me and swims off to the shallow end.  I seriously feared that I was going to drown for a second… i started the swim my arms and one leg… make on shore.  At least there was a lifeguard… I was also pretty close the coral rocks and could have stepped on it.  Scary.

    2) St. Martens – my friends and I decided to rent a car for the day.  Rented a Jeep Wrangler… oohh… red one! But it turns out the car is old… and the steering wheel sucks… the speedometer kept moving back and forth and wouldn’t stay in place.  Then we got stuck in traffice for almost an hour… we’ve only gone few miles and the drive around the whole island is suppose to be only 3 hours… but found some cool beaches and loved it.  Then on our way back… we decided to take an scenic route… BIG MISTAKE… you really shouldn’t do that unless you are familiar with the area… the crappy car barely made it through 3 hills and we had to drive through a mini-mountain… CRAP!  How will we even get over that????  Luckily, a guy come from that direction warned us of oil spill and told us to turn around… but then we have to go over those hills again??? Will we make it?  Unfortunately, there was a car in front of us with much better car and made us slow down too much to climb the hill… we made it up there 3/4 of the hill and stuck!  We reverse back down the hill.  We are freaking out… shall we call the rental place to pick us up??? We see a hotel and I inquire for an alternative route back to the ship… nope, there is no other way.  We try to make another attempt up the hill.  Unfortunately, the leading to the hill is a big curve and can’t see cars coming very well.  My friend starts accelerating before the curve… thru the curve… crap there is car coming… we miss the car (just barely)… up… up… up… uuuuppppp… we all scream and jump up and down in the car… up… up… MADE it!!!  

    3) Antigua – Zipline tour.  I kept spinning on the runs and my hand got in front of the roller on the rope and made sudden stop… and my finger was stuck on the wheel.  OOWWW.. crap!  So i had pull my self to the platform about 10 feet… However, on the other side… my friend asks the attendant if she can go… he doesn’t see that I am did not make it to the other side yet .  He tells my friend “go!”  Then I hear a scream and she is gliding in just I pulled myself on the platform and she can’t stop quickly enough… “SLAM” into me… knocked me out of the spot I was standing… We literally hit each other hip to hip. 

    this made me think that I should really get good insurance.  I need to have more safer vacation… this is craziness… but i have lots of fun stories to tell… i guess… :)

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *